Delightfully funny books to lift your spirits!

Sometimes you just need a read that helps you get silly! Here are 10 picks that will have readers of all ages rolling on the floor laughing or even just seeing old words (and worlds) in new ways.

PS: As an Amazon Associate, I earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you, from qualifying purchases. Thanks for supporting us create more free stories!

Oi Frog by Kes Gray and Jim Field Humour and Heart book list

Oi Frog by Kes Gray and Jim Field

“In the tradition of Oi Cat and Oi Dog, this charming rhyme has Frog sitting on a Log—except that Frog has other ideas. A study in wordplay for kids of all ages.”
Storyberries

Pig the Pug by Aaron Blabey

“Even with all the toys to himself, Pig the Pug isn’t satisfied. Will he ever learn to share? A fun and earnest lesson for kids on the importance of generosity.”
Storyberries
Pig the Pug by Aaron Blabey Humour and Heart book list
Dont Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems Humour and Heart book list

Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems

“The bus driver is taking a break, and he leaves the reader in charge with one simple instruction: “Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus.” But with the pigeon trying every trick he knows to get at the wheel, the reader might not be able to keep hold. Kids and adults alike won’t get enough of this silly speech-bubble adventure.”
Storyberries

Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein

“One very enthusiastic little chicken can’t make it through a single one of her father’s bedtime stories without interrupting. She just wants to save the characters! But when it’s her turn to tell a story, her father might just interrupt back. A heartwarming tale of a family’s love for storytelling.”
Storyberries
Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein Humour and Heart book list
I Just Ate My Friend by Heidi McKinnon Humour and Heart booklist

I Just Ate My Friend by Heidi McKinnon

““I just ate my friend. He was a good friend. But now he is gone. Would you be my friend?” This fun book takes the reader along on a journey of discovery, belonging, and maybe even impulse control…” Storyberries

Wacky Wednesday by Dr. Seuss

“Wednesdays can get wacky, and no one knows this better than a group of characters drawn by Seuss. Complete with his trademark rhymes, this lesser-known book is bound to capture the hearts of kids and parents alike.”
Storyberries
Wacky Wednesday by Dr. Seuss and George Booth Humour and Heart book list
Diary of a Wombat by Jackie French and Bruce Whatley Humour and Heart book list

Diary of a Wombat by Jackie French & Bruce Whatley

“Wombats might look like they don’t do much, but this wombat is very very busy. She spends most of her time training her humans—and they can be slow learners. A fun and funny day-in-the-life with great illustrations.”
Storyberries

Clack Clack Moo—Cows that Type by Doreen Cronin

“Farmer Brown’s cows have a typewriter, and they love to type – and moo. But his troubles really begin when they start leaving him notes. A quirky tale of bovine communication.”
Storyberries
Clack Clack Moo Cows that Type by Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin Humour and Heart book list

The Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone

“Sesame Street’s own Grover is pretty apprehensive about meeting the monster at the end of this book. Little does he—or the reader—know who the monster really is…”
Storyberries

The Wonky Donkey by Craig Smith and Katz Cowley

“Follow a donkey down the street and all over town in a book that truly takes rhyming to a whole new level. Kids and adults will simply lap it up!” Storyberries
The Wonky Donkey by Craig Smith and Katz Cowley Humour and heart book list

Free Online Children’s Books With Lots Of Humour and Heart At Storyberries

Best free books at Storyberries
Bedtime stories Lion King Monster Me Free Kids Comic header

Lion Queen – Monster Me Comics

Have fun reading a new version of the classic Goldilocks story – this time in comic form!

On What Planet Is That Okay?!

A hilarious story with wonderfully wacky illustrations. Storyberries. Bill keeps messing things up…Is there a planet somewhere in the universe for Bill?
Bedtime stories On What Planet Is That Okay? funny short stories for kids header illustration
Funny bedtime stories Have a Go of the Yoyo Lolo short stories for kids header

Have a Go of the Yo-Yo, Lo-Lo

A delightful poem full of humour and heart. The wonderful assortment of playful images are sure to brighten your day!